You are currently viewing Le Vetture

The Cars

Wrc Plus
That the Wrc Plus, the queen cars of the World Rally Championship, represent the pinnacle and the state of the art of the category, is an incontrovertible fact. Never has any generation of cars offered such performance, combined with those standards of safety and spectacularity. The Pluses shared the engine displacement with the Wrc 1600s, but they have been an evolution in every respect and thanks to the aerodynamic concessions they have returned to having forms that are truly capable of exciting. With engines of about 380 hp, a weight of less than 1,200 kg and an active central torque distributor, the Plus were significantly faster than the previous generation and at high speeds, even the aerodynamic component, thanks to the extractors and rear appendages, contributed significantly to increase its performance. It was also a "lucky" regulation from a sporting point of view, given that from 2017 to 2021 it allowed all the manufacturers involved to win at least once both among the drivers and among the manufacturers.
Citroen C3
Ford Fiesta
Hyundai i20 Coupe
Toyota Yaris

Wrc, 1,600 cc
At the beginning of 2011, after 14 years of more than honorable service, the first generation World Rally Cars gave way to the Wrc 1600, wanted by the FIA which had already inaugurated the downsizing trend and which was looking for a way to simplify existing cars. An objective pursued and achieved, introducing substantial regulatory limitations, especially at the transmission level, with the abandonment of electro-actuated gearboxes and many electronic controls. The Wrc 1600 formula proved to be right from the start, because it not only allowed the manufacturers already involved in the World Championship to stay in the loop, but it favored the entry of others. In 2011 the Mini arrived, the result of the collaboration between BMW and Prodrive, which was followed in the years to come by Hyundai and Volkswagen, with the Polo dominating from 2013 to 2016: a story destined to continue also with the advent of the Plus, if the stop hadn't come after the dieselgate scandal.
Ford Fiesta RS
Hyundai i20
Hyundai i20 NG
Mini Cooper S1600 T
Volkswagen Polo R
Citroen DS3

Wrc, 2,000 cc
The first generation of World Rally Cars made its debut in 1997, the result of a regulation wanted by the FIA to extend and improve the A8. With a weight of 1,230 kg and powers in the order of 330 - 340 hp, the two-litre supercharged Wrcs had performance very similar to those of the Group A at their maximum evolution, with which they shared the roots.
Numerical the technical regulation it has been very successful, given that no less than eleven manufacturers have ventured into it and it has also been very long-lived, given that this type of car was adopted in the World Rally from 1997 to 2010. Compared to the Group A from which they derived , the first Wrcs enjoyed greater technical freedom and were able to enjoy a long technological evolution (adoption of electro-actuated gearboxes, active electronic differentials, etc.) which led performance to grow a lot over a decade.
Subaru Impreza
Ford Escort
Toyota Corolla
Mitsubishi Lancer
Seat Cordoba
Ford Focus
Skoda Octavia
Peugeot 206
Peugeot 307
Hyundai Accent
Citroen Xsara
Citroen C4
Suzuki SX4

Kit-car, class K10
Kit-cars with an engine capacity of up to 1,600 cc were the "younger sisters" of the K11s, with very similar technical regulations but with less powerful engines and lower weight. These cars, powered by 4-cylinder 16-valve engines, which "breathed" through intakes with 4 throttle bodies, enjoyed about 215 hp, with a weight of less than 900 kg. Like their big sisters, they were all equipped with a six-speed sequential gearbox and limited slip differential. The technical regulations of the K10 then formed the basis for the birth of the Super 1600, cars which differed above all in their single-throttle aspiration and which gave birth to the Junior World Rally Championship starting in 2001, a series which was won first year by Sébastien Loeb and then, among others, by Daniel Sordo in 2005 and Sébastien Ogier in 2008.
Fiat Punto Kit
Peugeot 106 Maxi
Ford Puma Kit
Citroen Saxo Kit
Skoda Felicia Kit
Skoda Fabia Kit

Kit-car, K11 class (compliant with the 1999 technical regulation)
The 2,000 Kit-cars, gathered in the K11 class, have entered the collective imagination as some of the most fascinating cars in the history of rallies, thanks to their "muscular" shapes ” and to the howl of naturally aspirated engines with very high rotation speeds. These are front-wheel drive cars, derived from Group A, but further elaborated, with four-butterfly intake and enlarged bodies. Kit-cars were characterized by their low weight (initially 960 kg dry) and power outputs just under 300 hp. The cars were born in 1995 and the FIA decided to set up the F2 World Championship reserved for kit-cars, a series in which Seat was especially involved, winning the title in 1995, 1996 and 1997. The Citroen Xsara K11, which was the basis for the future Xsara Wrc able to dominate for a long time, managed to conquer two overall victories in 1999, when the late Philippe Bugalski won the Tour de Corse and Catalunya beating all the Wrcs.
Renault Clio Maxi
Peugeot 306 Maxi and EVO
Nissan Sunny Gti
Ford Escort RS 2000
Vauxhall Astra Kit Car
Volkswagen Golf MK3/4 Kit Car
Renault Megane Maxi
Seat Ibiza Gti
Citroen Xsara Coupè
Hyundai Coupè
Nissan Almera Kit
Skoda Octavia Kit
Citroen ZX Kit Car

Group A, class A8
The Group A have become the queens of the World Rally since 1987, to replace the "monsters" of Group B, arrived at performances no longer compatible with the safety standards of the time. The Group A were no longer prototypes, but cars derived from mass production, based on a model produced in at least 2,500 units, but subject to profound modifications. The A8 was the premier class, reserved for four-wheel drive cars, with a 2,000 cc supercharged engine and around 300 HP of power and a minimum weight of 1,230 kg. The latest evolutions of the A8s, those deployed from 1995 onwards and admitted to compete in the Mythical Cars Rally, were the basis from which the first World Rally Cars were then born, with which they shared the world stage, also managing to beat them for first three years, with the drivers' titles won by the Finn Tommi Makinen in 1997, 1998 and 1999 at the wheel of the Group A version of the Mitsubishi Lancer.
Nissan Sunny Gti R 4×4 36
Lancia Delta HF Integrale “Deltone” 36
Toyota Celica St185 36
Ford Escort RS Cosworth 34
Mitsubishi Lancer RS (All Evolutions) 34
Toyota Celica GT Four St205 34
Subaru Impreza